E- Club : Welcome to the Club!

Hello,
it’s my first english post on this blog. I’ve decided to write on english since I’ve been writing in Indonesian and German, it worries me that I’d forget how to write in english properly. You know, lack of language’s practice causing the loss of ability on using it. That’s why even though I learn German, I also keep practicing my english by joining an English Club. And since we’re practicing our speaking skill, so I thought…why not writing our activities on blog? I mean, it could help me practicing my writing skill without getting confuse on finding a topic. Plus, it will fill my blog entry hehe. Fine then, here we go….

English Club ITB Language Center
I joined this club in the middle of 2013. I was taking conversation class in the language center and my lecturer, Ms. Mailani invited the students to join. Apparently it had been so long after the last club (it was couple of years, if i’m not mistaken), so the coordinator, Mrs. Lily decided to make a new club. At first, there was only few students who join the club. Mostly were from conversation class, but they weren’t my classmates, so it was kinda awkward for me.

Our first meeting! See my awkward pose? =P

Our first meeting! See my awkward pose? =P

We have regular meeting every saturday morning, with different topics.It doesn’t have to be a discussion, could be a game session. Every week, we choose a captain who will be in charge to lead the meeting. Sometimes we go somewhere for an outing, we scheduled it for once a month (outing post coming soon!). And well…the time goes by. Over a year, some members come and gone, some of them were getting busier with their campus’ activities. I missed some meetings too, i think.

During regular meeting

During regular meeting

After regular meeting, taking picture is a must!

After regular meeting, taking picture is a must!

Outing in Dusun Bambu

Outing in Dusun Bambu

In the end of 2014, I decided to limit my activity. I only went to campus on weekday and stayed in Bandung on weekend. So in order to not getting bored, I started to come the club regularly. Yeah, my schedule on Saturday is E-Club and fiction writing class only. But, there came a change. I saw quite many new people joining the club and the atmosphere was somewhat different. Sometimes mrs. Lily invite her international students too. We always excited to hear about their stories, their hometowns, and their experiences living in our country. So finally, we added international presentation into our schedule.

After the presentation from Uganda

After the presentation from Uganda

Vietnam's presentation

Vietnam’s presentation

Usually we ended our meeting on around 11 am, then everybody just went home or back to their activities. But I dont know since when exactly, some members asked me to join having lunch. That lunch, was giving so much impact. Because we still use english when we talk, eventhough the meeting was over. Sure we talked about many things, the topics were various, mostly about life (haha, who doesnt talk about it?). But sometimes we were just fooling around. That was good. Because we feel closer now. Well, it’s just around five to seven people, but..I don’t feel awkward anymore! Haha.

Lunch time!

Lunch time!

Sometimes, number doesn't matter as long as we're together =3

Sometimes, number doesn’t matter as long as we’re together =3

You won’t believe that we’re so much closer than before. Even the regular meeting feels more alive, let alone the lunch session, we could talk until evening! Here are some proofs on how we’re having fun :

Playing Yunori, Korean traditional game

Playing Yunori, Korean traditional game

Fun at the museum

Fun at the museum

Playing cardboard game

Playing cardboard game

Face painting on Halloween!

Face painting on Halloween!

So sorry, you can't unseen this...

So sorry, you can’t unseen this…

So, if you’re free on Saturday morning and interested to develop your conversation skill, we always welcome you to join the club. We usually held the meeting at 9 am in the corner of the corridor, ITB Language Center, MIPA building. We open for public and you don’t have to register or pay any fee. It’s free! We only gather some money for snacks and drinks during the meeting and costs only Rp.10.000,- per month. So what are you waiting for? Come, join the club! 😀

2 thoughts on “E- Club : Welcome to the Club!

Leave a Reply

